WE SUPPORT VISIONS

Overall leaderhsip of the olympic centre as well as controll over the support for top – and junior athletes lies in the hands of the institute for sports sciences at the university of Innsbruck, which provides cutting edge knowledge and testing apparatus.

The institute for sports, alpine medicine and health tourism (ISAG) in Natters is responsible for the sports-medical support of our (potential) olympic athletes. A high calibre team of sports scientists, sports psychologists, physiotherapists and dieticians care for our athletes at the Campus Sport at the university of Innsbruck. The athletes are supported through cutting edge knowledge and know how by our staff who always test out and apply the newest sports scientifical breakthroughs. Over the past years successful cooperations with associations, teams and individual athletes were formed.

The sporting leadership was given to a.o. Univ. Prof Dr. Christian Raschner who already has supported numerous high performance athletes over the past years (tennis, alpine skiing, formula 1)

Our team of highly qualified sports scientists includes Carson Patterson MA, Christoph Ebenbichler Msc, Roland Luchner Msc and Lukas Höllrigl MSc who support a variety of athletes at the olympic centre. Further support is given by Mag. Mirjam Wolf and Mag. Simone Tscherntschitz (Bundesnetzwerk Sportpsychologie), by Sports scientists Carolin Haibel MSc (performance diagnostics), Carolin Hildebrandt PhD (project work in prophylactic injury prevention) and Mag. Lisa Mueller Bsc (talent research) as well as Martina Baldauf BSc MSc (nutritional scientist), Barbara Sauerwein (administration) and Dr. Hans-Peter Platzer (team rot weiss rot).

The CAMPUS SPORT TYROL INNSBRUCK - OLYMPIC CENTRE wants to ensure that extraodinary sports talents are granted an additional support in the form of all professional possibilities at the olympic centre from as early on as possible. All accredited athletes have a common goal: the achievment of peak performances and medals. It is the task of the olympic centre to make these dreams come true.

History

On January 1st 2011 a provisional service started at the Leistungszentrum Tirol - Innsbruck Campus Sport. This cooperation between the state of Tyrol, the town of Innsbruck and the univeristy of Innsbruck augmented tasks in the support of high performance sports which has been performed by the Trainingswissenschaftliches Zentrum at the institute for sports science (university of Innsbruck) since 2002. Only a few months later the Leistungszentrum was awarded the distinction 'olympic centre' by the Austrian olympic committee (OeOC).

The university of Innsbruck, the state of tyrol and the town of Innsbruck have the common goal within this unique cooperation, to find and establish a system in high performance sports which allows for peak performance less due to chance but more due to an optimal surrounding. Apart from the good conditions at the campus sport at the university of Innsbruck there is also a cooperation with the Hoehenleistungszentrum Kuehtai (high altitude performance centre). There, the Tyrolean athletes find optimal trainingfacilities at a heigth of 2000m.

With the foundation of the olympic centre in Innsbruck  the basis was formed for the dreams of olympic gold of tyrolean athletes; at a place where the olympic spirit has already thrived thrice. In 1964 and 1976 the olympic winter games were held in Innsbruck; and in January 2012 the olympic youth winter games took place.

WIR FÖRDERN VISIONEN

Die Leitung des Olympiazentrums und die Kontrolle der Betreuung von Hochleistungs- und NachwuchssportlerInnen obliegt dem Institut für Sportwissenschaft der Universität Innsbruck, das mit seinem Know - How und den vorhandenen Testapparaturen die Anwendung der neuesten sportwissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse sichert.

Während sich das Institut für Sport-, Alpinmedizin und Gesundheitstourismus (ISAG) in Natters für die sportmedizinische Betreuung der (potentiellen) Olympioniken verantwortlich zeigt, zieht ein hochkarätiges Team aus SportwissenschafterInnen, PhysiotherapeutInnen, SportpsychologInnen und ErnährungstrainerInnen die Fäden in der täglichen Trainingsarbeit am Campus Sport der Universität Innsbruck. Durch das Know-How der MitarbeiterInnen können stets die aktuellsten sportwissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse mit den AthletenInnen umgesetzt werden. Nicht umsonst entstanden in den letzten Jahren mit vielen Fachverbänden, Teams oder EinzelsportlerInnen erfolgreiche Kooperationen, die auch über die Landesgrenzen hinausgehen.

Mit der sportlichen Leitung wurde a.o. Univ. - Prof. Dr. Christian Raschner beauftragt, der in den letzten Jahren bereits vielen HochleistungssportlerInnen (Formel 1, Tennis, Ski Alpin,...) hilfreich zur Seite stand.

Ein Team hochqualifizierter Sportwissenschafter bestehend aus Carson Patterson MA, Christoph Ebenbichler MSc, Roland Luchner MSc, Antonio Rio del Pérez MSc und Lukas Höllrigl MSc betreut eine Vielzahl von AthletInnen im Olympiazentrum. Mit Mag. Mirjam Wolf und Mag. Simone Tscherntschitz (Bundesnetzwerk Sportpsychologie), den Sportwissenschafterinnen Carolin Haibel MSc (Leistungsdiagnostik), Carolin Hildebrandt PhD (Projektmitarbeiterin Verletzungsprophylaxe) und Mag. Lisa Müller, BSc PhD (Talentforschung) sowie Martina Baldauf BSc MSc (Ernährungswissenschaft), Barbara Saurwein (Administration) und Dr. Hans-Peter Platzer (Team Rot-Weiss-Rot) unterstützen sieben weitere Personen das Olympiazentrum.

Das CAMPUS SPORT TIROL INNSBRUCK - OLYMPIAZENTRUM will sicherstellen, dass sportlich außergewöhnlichen Talenten eine zusätzliche Förderung geboten wird und ihnen ab dem frühestmöglichen Zeitpunkt die professionellen Möglichkeiten des Olympiazentrums zur Verfügung stehen. Alle akkreditierten AthletInnen haben ein gemeinsames Ziel: Das Erreichen von Spitzenleistungen und Medaillen. Die Aufgabe des Olympiazentrums ist es, diese Träume wahr werden zu lassen.

Geschichte

Mit 1. Jänner 2011 wurde der provisorische Betrieb des Leistungszentrums Tirol - Innsbruck am Campus Sport aufgenommen. Diese Kooperation zwischen Land Tirol, Stadt Innsbruck und Universität Innsbruck erweiterte die seit 2002 vom Trainingswissenschaftlichen Zentrum am Institut für Sportwissenschaft Innsbruck abgedeckten Aufgaben in der Spitzensportbetreuung. Nur wenige Monate später wurde dem Leistungszentrum vom Österreichischen Olympischen Komitee (ÖOC) am 1. September das Prädikat „Olympiazentrum“ verliehen.

Die Universität Innsbruck, das Land Tirol und die Stadt Innsbruck haben sich Dank dieser einzigartigen Kooperation das Ziel gesetzt, ein System im Spitzensport zu finden, welches Spitzenleistungen weniger durch Zufall sondern im Rahmen eines optimalen Umfelds möglich machen soll. Neben den guten Bedingungen am Campus Sport der Universität Innsbruck besteht eine Kooperation mit dem Höhenleistungszentrum Kühtai. Dort finden die Tiroler SportlerInnen optimale Trainingsbedingungen auf einer Höhe von 2000m.

Mit der Gründung des Olympiazentrums in Innsbruck wurde die Basis für den Traum "Olympisches Gold" für Tirols SportlerInnen an einem Ort, der den olympischen Gedanken bereits zum dritten Mal lebte, geschaffen. 1964 und 1976 war Innsbruck Austragungsort der Olympischen Winterspiele und im Januar 2012 fanden die ersten Olympischen Winterspiele der Jugend "1st Winter Youth Olympic Games" im Großraum Innsbruck statt.